My Story so far

Hi all,

I’m a beginner forex trader and thought I would share my journey so far…

I have spent 2 months playing with a demo account and was going really well, then I switched to a real account with $1000 and made $120 in my first 2 hours… only to keep losing every single trade after that and destroyed my account to $600!

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong and I tried a demo account with the same value ($600) and managed to get it up to $1100 in 3 weeks, so I tried live trading again and so far lost my first trade and now my account is at $500!

I still can’t work out what I’m doing wrong on the live account? I’m following all the same rules! Has anyone else had a losing-streak when they were starting out? What did you do to fix it?

Even though u r down and want to recoup quickly, u gonna have to start trading smaller and build up slowly while protecting what u have. R u using the right MM
U probably been revenge trading after losse although I dont know that for a fact but that is what happens whenu r just starting out.

Hi davenz,

Could you share more details about your trading journey?
Are you sticking to a particular trading plan? Are you trading with the same broker? Did you notice any execution changes after switching to a live account?

Getting success in demo for only like 2 months is not a surety that you will start making money in your real account. A lot of emotions hammer you down when you have real money at stake. Go back to demos, practice more, spend some more months in demo and then fund your real account.

Well, there are some psychological differences between demo and live trading, and I do believe that this might be the factor causing a difference in performance. I myself underwent this kind of shift and I did chalk up a few losses when I made the move from demo to live. Here are some things I learned from this experience though: 3 Psychological Differences between Demo and Live Trading