Margin calculation

Hello,

I am really really new to Forex and margin is a real confusion for me. When you use margin, like say I have a $1000 account with 50:1 margin, if I spend $10,000 on a trade does is first take $1000 from me and then adds $9000 and I lose whatever is lost in the trade (so if the trade depreciates to $9000 my account is blown) or is it for every $50 lost I lose a dollar?(e.x. I close a position with $9,950 so now my account is worth $999 instead of $1000)

thanks
1 Like

You wrote a long, complex question.

I’m going to break it up into parts, in order to answer the various issues you have raised.

Keep in mind that 50:1 is the maximum leverage allowed by your broker. But, don’t even think of using that much leverage on one trade, or even on several trades combined.

In the U.S., maximum allowable leverage is limited by the CFTC (the forex regulator), and 50:1 is the most that any U.S. broker may offer to retail clients.

Maximum allowable leverage determines the margin required on each trade. 50:1 corresponds to 2% required margin.

To use simple numbers, let’s say that on a particular trade the notional value of the trade is $10,000 and the required margin is $200, which is 2% of $10,000.

In the retail forex market, you don’t “spend”, you don’t invest, you don’t buy or sell, and you don’t borrow.

What you do is bet on the change in price of a base currency with respect to a cross currency. You can place a bet of any size, provided you have sufficient funds in your account to cover the required margin.