Better to increase lot size or leverage?

Hi all,

I’m a noob trying to form an intelligent strategy before I even do a demo trade.

Aside from the amount of money I invest in a trade, there appears to be an option as to how to increase the size of the trade, and it has to do with the balance between lot size and leverage. What is a good balance between lot size and leverage? Is it SAFER to increase one over the other?

Thanks,
WMF

I reduced my leverage from 200 to 100 and dropped my lot size. As my account has grown ive increased the lot sizebut left leverage at 100

1 Like

Given a constant account balance, increasing lot size is the same as increasing leverage.

For example, if you have $1000 in your account and you move from micro lots (1000 units) to mini lots (10,000 units) you’ve increased your leverage use 10-fold.

1 Like

Question shows some confusion.However good practice dictates not to risk more then 1-2 % of your equity on the single trade . Increase your bet proportionally with increase of your equity. Stick to good practice and I promise, you are going to to have some quality time before you lose your capital and you’ll learn a lot about your system and yourself on the way.
#TradeSafely

1 Like

Hi,

Since you are getting ready for demo trading, I think the best way for you is to try what ever will come on your mind and the result will show you what is better.

Hi Eddie,

Your response appears to contain the principle I’m looking for. Perhaps you can explain why, initially, you dropped BOTH the leverage and the lot size instead of leaving one at the level it was and dropping the other more drastically. Is the way you did it more advantageous or safer in any way than leaving one at the level it was and dropping the other more drastically?

Thanks very much,
WMF

Thanks for your explanation Rhody. I see I should have made myself more clear.