How to choose a broker?

Hello All,

Obviously I am new to the forex world and I have read a few books and done some research and I am ready to choose a broker and start a demo account, but this is where I am having problems. In all the stuff I read they say ask the broker questions and do your research, but they never say a good site to see a listing of brokers. Also, I live in the US and I have come across a number of brokers, but a lot of them don’t seem to accept US clients. Does anyone have suggestions as to where I can find some brokers to research?

Thank you!

Frank

If you are from the US you are screwed, sorry. This is because no European regulated broker will work with you (it’s illegal if they accept you). So your question should be which unregulated brokers is trustworthy. There are many scams around so I really hope you will not fall for one. I will deposit a very small amount, trade for a bit and then withdraw everything, see if you get your money back. Thats one way to test them.

I was starting to get that feeling! Thank you for the info, I guess I will have to do a little more research.

As Pollar said, you are basically screwed thanks to the CFTC and other who put US traders in the same boat with Iranian or North Koreans, Nigerians…you get the picture. You can pick from US brokers only which means you have to pick between a rock and a hard place.

Hi Frank! You might find what you need in this forum section: Forex Brokers But as most of the guys already mentioned, you don’t have much of a choice when it comes to forex regulation under the CFTC and NFA in the US.

This is a good place to start. Forex Brokers Comparison