"Highs" and "Lows"?

So I’ll go ahead and firstly introduce myself since I think this is one of my first posts on this site.
My name is Paul and I’m a total forex noob. Nice to meet you all!
(I think there is an introduction section and I should probably go ahead and do that soon.)

Anyways, I’ve been going through the Pips School of Pipucation (I tried), and I’ve been doing ok, so far I think.
I just have a simple noob question for the time being - When someone says “Highs” or “Lows”, are they referring to the close of a Bullish or Bearish Candlestick or are they referring to the tops and bottoms of the “shadows” or “pins” that protrude from the body?

Thank you!

Hi, good to see you’re studying at the school.
Probably best if you wait until you get to this in the school, it will explain it really well. Basically, if you look at a chart you’ll see a series of peaks and troughs, bit like a mountain range. The highs are the mountain peaks, the lows are the troughs.
When you can see each consecutive peak is higher than previous peaks and the troughs are also higher, then the chart is trending upwards. If the opposite is happening then the trend is downwards.
Keep studying, don’t skip anything, keep asking questions.
Good luck

They’re referring to the pins/shadows that protrude.

The “high” of any specified period (such as a candle-duration) means simply “the highest point that the price reached during that period”. (And the same for the low, of course.)

That means that (unless a candle doesn’t have an upper wick at all because its high happened to coincide with the open if it’s a falling candle or its close if it’s a rising candle), the high will be the top of the [B]wick[/B], [B]not[/B] part of the body of the candle. (And the opposite for the low, of course.)