My thoughts about EAs

Hi, I have been trading Forex for 8 years, and 5 years professionally. I have seen a lot of posts lately, here and at other forums about people asking for an EA that “works”. I am going to give some thoughts about EA.

The main question is: can an EA make money? [B]Then answer is Yes and No. [/B]

Yes you can make money with an EA. And NO, you won´t make money with an EA that you buy in a website (a commercial EA). So here are my main thoughts about them, from my 8 years of experience:

1. First of all, [B]commercial EAs DON´T WORK[/B]. Stop wasting your money. No one with a profitable EA that is making him tons of money is going to sell it on a website. If you had a chicken that put golden eggs everyday, why would you post in the newspaper and risk your own profitability? All the charts and profits u see are optimized results and curvefitted, that on live trading will bust your account. Sorry to disappoint all the newbies, but there is no easy road to succeed in forex. You won´t be make money by buying and EA and let it run all day, and cash at the end of the month. It just won´t happen. Maybe you can make money 1 month, but eventually it will crash. [B]I started making money with EA the minute I forgot about commercial ones, and created my own personalized EA. [/B]

2. [B]Behind and EA there is a system.[/B] If there is a system that has a positive expectancy and the EA is well coded to the point that can replicate that system, then the EA will make money. But is not the EA the most important aspect, is the system behind it. That is why you need to understand your own system, in order to adjust all the parameters. When the market conditions changes, what are u going to do if you do if you don´t even know what is it about?