If the Fed raises interest rates on Thursday, what will happen to the Dollar?

Hi,
As a newbie I would be interested in your opinions please regarding the possible effects on US currency pairs if the Fed increases interest rates on Thursday, as some in the media are predicting.

I’ve read a couple of National Newspapers here in the UK today and their Finance contributors have given conflicting opinions.
One pundit said if rates go up then there is a danger that the US Dollar could ‘spike’. What does this mean?

Another pundit thinks that prices will stagnate due to conflicting data due out earlier in the week relating to US Economic performance.

What do you guys feel may happen yourselves if rates do rise? Will you be tempted to buy/sell US currency pairs, or will you stay way clear as the market could get very volatile?
Cheers
Simon

The first pundit was right,the dollar will gain in value against all other currencies.

As i see it is true now since the start of the Depression in the China and the Europe we will see the strength of the US Dollar increasing in the coming times :slight_smile:

An interest rate hike could cause the dollar to gain value against other currencies. It could cause investors to feel more confident that the U.S. economy is growing and healthy and thus support a stock rally. But it could just as easily scare investors who think the hike will take too big a bite out of corporate profits and thus cause a further decline in stocks. It could bring bond prices down.

I am very sceptical that a hike will be implemented without any meaningful increases in the CPI.

-Adrian