Should I start with fundamentals?

Hi everybody

I am completely new to trading and would like to know whether I should be learning fundamental analysis at this stage or whether to just focus on technical analysis?

Many thanks
Richard

Yes, act as if your a weather man for Forex. The key is to never get caught in the rain, ( Liquidity )

Knowing everything about News releases and influence on each currency. They all usually correlate in some fashion.

Also, study the heatmap. A heatmap is again, correlation of the pairs against eachother, showing strength and weakness on a wider range of data.

Its about anaylitics.

Once you know where your going, its easier to go with the flow, Not necessarily the trend,

\

Good Luck

There’s no right way. Whatever you’re in to. There are successful traders doing either or both. I ignore fundies completely and just read the chart.

I agree with petefader,

You have to do what YOU like, or else it will be difficult to follow your trade rules. When you don’t like fundamentals and you have to watch them all the time, it will bore you to death. When you LIKE price action, finding price action patterns will be more fun for you and you are more likely to stick to the plan.

I would say it would be wise to know both. Start with the one you ike most, but don’t start live trading untill you propperly know both.

It is good to start on School of Pipsology | Learn Forex Trading and try to finish it (90%+ of the beginners lack the discipline to even do that to learn the basics)

Without a real life coach i guess it is easier to start on technicals, but its a matter of personal preference.

Good luck!

You’re going to need a pretty big starting capital to trade fundamentals I think. It’s more for longer term trading.

Totally agree with you, I also trade mainly on pure technical analysis. I love trading solely on charts. News only confuses me so I don’t check them except for a few high impact ones.