Newbie looking for help :)

Hi Guys,

Total newbie to forex! Been paper trading for around 7 weeks now. I am in the sophomore year on the BabyPips school and as much as this is all new to me having studying again after a 10-year break is fun! But a lot of getting used to.

I have a few qs to bounce of you guys:

How long did it take for you guys to grasp a basic understanding of how the FX market works?
How long did you guys paper trade for before setting up an real account?
Is FX profitable for retail traders? The whole 95% of retails traders lose money is kind of intimidating.
Are any of you guys consistently profitable? Or is a more like a few big wins follow by a series of losses?

If anyone can help I would be extremely grateful! And a big thank you to the runners of this site, its really, really useful.

Thanks!

For a “[I]basic[/I] understanding”, very little time. A basic understanding isn’t complicated at all? Hours rather than days, anyway.

Four years.

And then another three years after that before I was really making what most people would call a living from it. And I had a lot of initial (and continuing) advantages which many people don’t have.

For a small minority, I think. (Just like most forms of attempted self-employment?).

These figures are widely bandied about without sources being cited for them. Who knows what the truth is? (If I had to guess, I’d guess that it’s actually higher than 95%, to be honest, but just like everyone else I can’t prove it or even really adduce any evidence for it.)

There are certainly some of us here making our livings this way. (I actually switched from spot forex to futures a few months ago, so strictly speaking I’m no longer a forex trader, but I did eventually make a living from it for four years, and the switch to futures hasn’t really changed how I actually trade very much at all.)