More than 80% trades i took a loss on would have been a winner < 24 hrs later

started full time trading 3 months ago, just went through a trade by trade analysis. frankly i am bit stunned by this discovery. but i have this cynical view that, the day i decide to ride it out rather than cutting the loss (or letting it hit stop loss) would also be the day i blow up the account.

i would appreciate if people on this forum can share some thoughts on this. does this imply stop loss is over-rated, especially for someone trading small lots?

thanks,
3-month newbie

A stop loss is a vital part of trading IMO. It cuts you emotions out of trading. You are afraid to take a loss for as simply as you say 80% of your trades that were closed in a loss would have been in profit in the next 24hrs. Sometimes you will be right but the issue lies when it dont and keeps going into a loss. Dont look at the fact your trade would have been in profit if you just left it open. Instead keep looking at the chart and figure out is your stop possibly to tight? Or maybe is your entry on a little bit of to much a hair trigger. Trades in drawdown are inevitable as is losing trades. Sounds like you might be placing your trades to tight. Without knowing your strategy it is impossible for me to tell. But perhaps you could find a way to widen the stop without increasing risk i.e. lower your lots. Granted your profit will be smaller but if thats what it takes to make someone go from a losing trader to a profitable trader then IMO thats an good deal. Slow profits are always better than fast losses.

thanks, bobmaninc

Nope … it implies simply that yours, over the trades you analysed, weren’t wide enough. :slight_smile:

thanks, lexys, i guess you are right, although i haven’t lost that much, i surely act like someone deeply traumatized by the fx market, i.e., trigger happy, sl set at the price so i won’t lose more than a fancy hamburg, etc…