Success measured in 'Pips' or '% return on account' - your thoughts

Hi All,

I’ve been trading (on and off, full time and part time) for the past 8 years or so. I’ve not made a profession out of it, although I have made money from it.

I took a look through some of the babypips threads this week, I used to spend a lot more time here years back. One thing I have noticed, and it’s always been mentioned here, is that traders seem to sit on either side of the fence when it comes to measuring performance.

There are two distinct views which are very evident

1. The first measure their performance as a % of their account balance. This is all they are interested in, and this is also where I sit.

2. The second measure their performance by the number of pips made, and this is all they really care about. If you say you made X% on a trade, this group of people would answer back saying “yes, but how many pips does that represent”.

So if we are operating in many dynamic markets, where a 1 pip move represents a different % market move within different currency pairs…why does group 2 exist as it ‘appears’ to be illogical and skewed.

It doesn’t take much thought to realize that [B]the number of pips gained are [U]not[/U] correlated to profit[/B].

So what are your thoughts, i’m interested in the people who focus on the number of pips rather than the % of profit made per trade or per week.

I can’t help with that - I’ve always worked on a “monthly percentage of account” and “[I]average[/I] monthly percentage of account” basis, and I don’t really understand the value of the other, “pip-count” perspective very well.

But - like you - I’ll be interested to see the replies from those you [I]do[/I] want to hear from; and thanks for starting the thread. :slight_smile:

i personaly dont realy care about pips …
trader 1 gains 200 pips and made 200 $ out of it…trader 2 gained 100 pips and made 400$ out of it …
so pips do not represent your gains due to different lot sizes you use…