Size and Scale of Investment Base - N00bie Q

Complete Newbie, not even sure I want to learn Forex yet:

What is the advantage for a forex trader to have a larger investment base, more capital?

And at what point is it too large or doesn’t scale (if there is such a point)?

thx!

The one that springs immediately to mind is the facility to use a genuine broker rather than a counterparty market-maker who’s pretending to be a broker (it [U]doesn’t[/U] involve having a huge amount of capital at all - $25,000 is enough, but it makes an [I]enormous[/I] difference to one’s trading, dealing-costs, entire relationship with one’s broker, security, and so on.)

I suppose there is such a point, at least in theory, but it’s going to be far, far beyond the account-level of any retail/independent trader. It isn’t an issue to people trading with “only” 7-figure accounts.

I find your answer thought provoking, thanks!
Can you give a few examples of genuine brokers and counterparty market-maker’s?
Where does a company like www dot tradersway dot com fall? I have no special interest
other than that it came up in a discussion, thanks!

[I]Almost[/I] every broker ever mentioned in this forum is a counterparty market-maker, and (athough this isn’t true of [U]all[/U] the members) the overwhelming majority of them are using one.

An example would be Oanda (I happen to think it’s one of the best ones: I said more, here.)

An example of a genuine broker would be Interactive Brokers (again, I happen to think it’s a very good one: I use it, myself.)