Macbook?

Hi all,

Apologize in advance if this is not the appropriate forum section for this thread.
I have a quick question that I was hoping some seasoned traders could help me with in regards with a laptop.
I am looking at buying a new laptop dedicated solely to the purpose of trading and journaling from. I am first investing in a new laptop over a stationary trade station as I am on the move a lot and I feel at this current time a high spec laptop would suit my needs for now.

I am new to trading and currently studying at a trading school in London. I had my eyes set on buying the new 15 inch macbook pro. However, I have been warned off by multiple people saying that mac are not good for traders as I’m going to have to use parallels to use most trading platforms. Seeing as a mac is quite a hefty chuck of change more than a top end windows laptop Im not sure wether it would actually be worth buying the mac if I’m just going to end up running windows on it?

Could anyone that has had experience with both windows/ mac give me any insight into this? Really need to get hold of this laptop ASAP but i just can’t make a decision on what to go for! Both laptops I have my eyes on are a lot of money and I’d hate to regret my decision.

Thanks!

1 Like

Exactly my perspective. I have (once, for a few weeks) used a Mac for trading (running Windows on it, using Parallels), but it wasn’t mine and I won’t be buying one any time soon.

Like you, I just can’t see the point of paying extra for a Mac, and then paying extra [U]again[/U] for special software to use on it just to make it think it’s a PC in the first place.