Newbie just saying hello

Hello everyone. I’m a Forex trading newbie working my way through the BabyPips school and learning everything I can.

Just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to everyone.

Looking forward to learning and to contributing (as soon as I have something of value to add).

I’m impressed with all the great info BabyPips has to offer. I’m so glad I stumbled across this site early in my Forex trading career (before even getting into live trading). Very helpful stuff!

Best to everyone,

• Iggy

welcome iggy. fell free to ask any questions you have.

Thanks jibby03.

I’m sure I will as I get further along in my education and experience.

Right now I’m wrestling with the concepts of margin and leverage. I’ve read and re-read the BabyPips lesson on it, but I’m still having a hard time getting it into my brain.

If anyone can suggest a good resource to make understanding those two concepts - leverage and margin - easy, I’d love to have it!

Thanks.

Best,

• Iggy

I would suggest reading “The Number One Cause of Death For Forex Traders” in the school area. If you dont understand it after that just get back to me and I may be able to find sometihng else.

Hi jibby03,

Yeah, that’s the lesson I’ve read through a few times now. It’s beginning to sink it, but I’m still struggling with it.

I get that leverage can be dangerous especially for undercapitalized accounts.

I have a demo account that has 100:1 leverage with $10,000 in it. I’m trying to determine what my exposure is on a given trade and how it affects margin and leverage.

I’m not quite clear how margin relates to leverage and vice versa.

I’m sure I’ll get it in time. Just gotta keep reading about it from different sources until I have that “ah ha” moment of enlightenment.

If you can suggest other sources to read to give me a different angle on it, that would be a huge help.

Thanks.

• Iggy