Need help deciding where to start learning

Im completely new to trading and am currently working my way through the free school to build up my knowledge.

However I’m struggling to chose 1/2 currency pairs to focus on in terms of trading and analysis. I feel that by choosing just 1/2pairs to start with will help me get a better understanding of how everything works before getting too stuck in.

I would just like some opinions on which pairs would be a good choice based on:

Where I live being Oxford (England)
Information available for analysis
Simple analysis techniques
And lack of volatility

All opinions will be much appreciated

Also On choosing a broker to work with after reading about it I’ve decided that id like a no dealing desk broker (STP + ECN) but am not sure if this is the right decision? Also would like some suggestions of actual brokers?

At the moment I am look for short term profits of trading.

I think that’s probably a good idea.

For what it’s worth, I suggest EUR/USD as first choice and maybe GBP/USD as second choice. Both have low spreads/dealing-costs and are easily traded during hours that will probably suit you.

I suggest you should read (and if necessary ask) here: 301 Moved Permanently

You probably shouldn’t be. You should looking to learn first, [I][U]followed[/U][/I] by many hundreds of hours’ practice on a demo account, before even thinking of trading with real money. I’d [B]strongly[/B] advise you not to think about funded account trading until you’ve carefully collated the results of a [U]minimum[/U] of 300 [I]consecutive[/I] trades on a demo account without making an overall net loss, but you’ll be (at least) many months away even from doing that, at the moment, in my opinion.

I first started when I was a bit younger than you are now (I saw your other post), and I now trade full-time for a living - and if it helps you, this was how I learnt.

And these are the 5 big mistakes you need to avoid.