Black Swan event

I’m a newbie. I understand the mechanics of FX trading and am currently evaluating trading strategies. After developing a trading plan, I plan on testing a few trading strategies in a demo account.

I recently came across a phenomena called a “black swan event”. The most recent event occurred in 2015 when the Swiss National Bank removed its peg of the EURO resulting in a crash in long positions of the EUR/CHF, the USD/CHF etc. Many FX accounts were left with negative balances and some brokers almost went under. Although very rare, a black swan event can result in catastrophic consequences. Since stops won’t protect you, what will? The possibility of a black swan event is giving me second thoughts on pursuing FX trading.

I don’t use them myself, but there [I]are[/I] such things as guaranteed stops.

They would still perhaps leave you exposed to the risk that the [I]broker[/I] might go under (though some countries, depending on their regulation, also have government-backed guarantees against that occurrence), and “black swan events” are typically times that that might happen, if ever.

Ultimately, it isn’t possible to remove all the risk from trading - one simply has to construct the safest way one can, given all one’s own circumstances, to protect against risk.

It’s certainly true that trading spot forex, through counterparty market-making brokers, is comparatively high risk, in general trading terms.

And welcome to the forum.

Hello lexys,

Thanks for the welcome and reply.

Although this sounds incredible regarding the 2015 black swan event, I read that trades were being executed 1,000 pips below their stops!