Few questions from a total newb

Hi I got to this site from google to your “School” which I found to be a unvalued resource. I’ve been toying around on a practice account from forex.com as well and I a few questions arose.

Are forex profits taxed in any way or form (I’m from US)?

What is the difference between opening a position and placing an order?

Why can’t say buy JPN against the Euro. Why can I buy certain currencys, but I cant sell them against each other ?

Say I put in $1000 into a micro account, do I purchase a whole “lot” or what? How much money am I risking ? If I want to buy a lot of USD/Euro at $10,000. How much money am I risking and whats the maximum I can earn and how much can I lose ?

After reading and learning at the BabyPips school, I don’t really understand the ‘leverage’. How can I be able to control $10,000 with only $1000 ? Who lends the money and where does it come from and who covers it if I lose it?

Any contriubutions are greatly appricated. :slight_smile:

Absolutely.

What is the difference between opening a position and placing an order?

Placing an order is the step required to open a position.

Why can’t say buy JPN against the Euro. Why can I buy certain currencys, but I cant sell them against each other ?

You can. When you sell EUR/JPY you are buying JPY. You have to think in terms of pairs.

Say I put in $1000 into a micro account, do I purchase a whole “lot” or what? How much money am I risking ? If I want to buy a lot of USD/Euro at $10,000. How much money am I risking and whats the maximum I can earn and how much can I lose ?

These questions cannot be answered directly because they depend on a great many factors.

After reading and learning at the BabyPips school, I don’t really understand the ‘leverage’. How can I be able to control $10,000 with only $1000 ? Who lends the money and where does it come from and who covers it if I lose it?