Interview with BabyPips.com's Main Man: Forex Gump

1. Your name sounds a lot like the movie character Forrest Gump, do you have any similarities with him?

If by similarities you mean that I’m also a Vietnam War veteran, have a successful shrimp business, and can run across the United States and back… Then no, I don’t have any similarities with him.

But if you mean that I’m as good looking as the actor, Tom Hanks, who played Forex Gump, then yes, I do!

2. Being part of the FX-Men sounds glamorous, awesome and cool. Tell us, is it really like that?

Truth be told, hanging with the FX-men crew really is a pretty sweet gig. Not only are all these braniacs really good at what they do, but they’re actually a cool bunch to hang out with. From hitting the clubs with Big Pippin, to shooting some hoops with Cyclopip, to trying to keep up with Huck’s wackiness, it’s never a dull moment in the FX-men headquarters.

What I like best though is that when it’s time to work, everyone is willing to roll up their sleeves and get down and dirty. Forex analysis isn’t easy, but it’s what we love to do and it’s great seeing everyone’s passion to learn and understand the market!

3. What do you think is the biggest misconception about macroeconomics and how it affects the forex markets?

I feel that traders, especially novice ones, have this notion that economic events have a black and white effect on the markets. However, that is not the case.

Take for example the most recent BOJ rate decision and its effect on the yen. Old school market wisdom tells us that currencies usually get sold off when central banks shift to a more dovish stance. However, that’s not what happened on the charts on September 19.

The yen rallied despite a 10 trillion JPY increase in the central bank’s asset purchases. For the most part, it was because traders were just relieved that the bank didn’t directly intervene in the markets.