Coffeeshop: The Lifelong Learner

Coffeeshop

1.Tell us something about yourself. Where are you from? What are your hobbies?

It is funny you ask that, whenever I tell people my name (Ahmed) they always think I am either from the middle east or my parents are hippies, I am a pretty normal looking white person with no real accent so it throws them off. The truth of the matter is I am Syrian, but was born in Denver, and now I live in Florida.

I am quite fond of a few things, I love cooking, I am a classically trained French Chef. I am a huge Coffee Drinker, I love riding my bikes, I also have developed a strange like habit of doing card tricks, it started with shuffling them while I was watching trades happen, just as something for my hands to do and now it is a real problem, I am playing with card in bed before I go to sleep, while I cook, while I watch TV. Aside from those things I am really a lifelong learner, I love it.

2. How long have you been trading and how did you get into forex trading?

At this point I have been trading for a total of 6 years, it started when I asked a good friend about stock market stuff and he mentioned Forex to me. I had a Practice account 15 minutes later and was at it. I tend to get obsessive about things that I am learning or trying to get better at and luckily Forex was not an exception to that.

3. What’s your most memorable trading experience?

I used to get my hands on every resource I could over the last 6 years and one thing that helped me out like crazy was these interviews that Dukascopy would do with their traders of the month. One in particular was with a guy named Haissam Abiad who seemed to be some sort of wizard to me at the time. Anyway, I somehow found his contact info and sent him a few questions and his reply really impacted me.

(I was able to dig up the old email)

“There is no perfect system, most systems work for a while and then crash. Try to be a discretionary trader” -Haissam Abiad