Does This Sound Like A Dumb Idea?

Hi Everyone,

Please bear with me because I am totally new to Forex and any type of trading.
I am learning with the Babypips School but still have a long way to go. In the meantime I am also playing around in a practice account.

I treat this practice account as if it was real so I basically never spend more than I actually would in real life. I figure that would give me a better idea of what to expect regarding either gains or losses.

At present I would start off with a micro account and so I basically trade with “micro” practice money.

My plan is to open micro trades on a daily basis aiming for small gains rather than the “big win”.
So far I have had quite a few trades in the green, some make $5, some make $10, etc. As soon as they hit a number I am happy with I close to collect the small gains.

It may sound silly but over a week these tiny gains add up.

Yes, I do have to invest much more money for these tiny returns but it just feels less risky.
I mean I may invest $80 in a certain currency only to gain $6 out of it…but it is still a gain right?

Does this sound like a dumb plan?
Am I going about this the wrong way?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Micro Forex Trading Accounts

I wouldn’t go with any demo account. No matter how good profits you can make there it is not real and it can only give you a wrong directions. If you rally want to be serious and become a trader you should open a real micro account with some small deposit and you can practice there with your own money. Of course there is a risk to lose your money, but that’s the only real way to develop your real trading strategy by making mistakes and learning from them.

+1 to Rambo35 comment. Just keep doing what you are doing with your plan. It is your strategy and especially if it work well in a real micro account. You’ll be good to go.