Hedge Fund Level Investment for the Retail Investor

So I have been doing some serious quantitative research for the past two years and I finally have a working system. I will use this thread to track and discuss the evolution of my strategy that anyone can follow on ayondo with just $ 100.

I call the strategy Global Rotation One and it involves investing in equities; US, UK, Europe and Emerging Markets, treasuries and gold.

The backtests look very promising. Had you been following the strategy since 2010, this is what the equity curve would look like today.

This is what the stats look like:

Levering up the strategy 5 times makes it look even better if you can stomach a drawdown of about 38%.

I launched the strategy live on ayondo two weeks ago and this is what the numbers look like:

So far so good.

Due to the hedged nature of the strategy, losses will be controlled and growth will be slow and steady.

It will be nice to see how this year evolves as America heals, Europe embarks on QE and China comes of age. How do you think these developments will affect equity and bond markets?

This was an interesting week in the markets which ended badly for my strategy. We began with Syriza winning the Greek elections held on Sunday. As expected the market reacted badly and stocks traded lower on Monday. By Friday the Greek market was down 14%.
The FOMC report hinted at a possible rate rise by June. This is interesting because we haven’t seen them hike the base rate in over 7 years. Seeing them do this for the first time, should definitely rough markets.
Apple beat estimates and closed trading at its highest level ever.

For my strategy, I closed both my gold and bond positions in profit. However I took a massive loss on my S&P 500 position and Emerging market equity exposure. Overall, I ended the month with a return of 0.67%.

Another difficult week for the Global Rotation One strategy but it is still green for the year.