Honorary Member Q&A: MeiHua

[B]MeiHua[/B]

###1. Tell us little bit about yourself. Where are you from? What do you do full-time? What are your hobbies?

I am from Chicago, born and raised. Chicago is a city full of traders, it just doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. I am currently a full time trader. Before that I ran my own import/export business. My first exposure to the markets was working in the commodities pits for a company, filling institutional order flow over 10 years ago.

For fun, I enjoy traveling, sailing, snowboarding and martial arts. I think it’s really good to do things outside especially when you are cooped up all day. Honestly, I have a small garden in the back of my house. I like working there too, growing flowers and vegetables.

###2. When/why did you start trading forex? What resources did you use to learn how to trade (websites, books, apps, mentors, etc.)?

Actually it was at my import/export company that I wanted to hedge currency risk. With smaller than standard unit sizing and my contracts having different delivery dates than standard futures expirations it was just a great way to take a little risk off. But eventually I wanted to trade it for profit.

Trading spot forex is totally different animal than trading futures, especially because I was most familiar with floor trading techniques which is not very much applicable anymore. So I used every resource you could get your hands on, websites, books, other professional traders as mentors, doing my own homework, research, and just plain old screen time.

For me a true mentor is one who takes a personal interest in you, and helps you on your personal journey as a trader. This is hard to achieve unless you actually know professional traders personally. Finding help online can be an expensive and misleading place due to all the people peddling snake oil for courses and mentoring.

###3. What do your friends and family think about you trading currencies?