Babypips Artists

Who else here does any art, when they’re not trading?

Paintings, drawings, sculpture … anything else?

I’m an amateur painter. I started at high school, and have dabbled in it since then.

I’ve done a series of large (around 1 metre by 1 metre, or 1 metre by 1.3 metres) acrylic-on-canvas paintings (a few of them are technically “mixed media” actually), mostly loosely inspired by the work of the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian, including by some of his earlier-period work before he was so famous for the primary-colours geometrical stuff.

I used to have a little blog on which I posted photos of some of these daubs, but it was only to show friends: nothing for sale at all … and I didn’t bother renewing the domain-name or hosting for it, after the first year. I’m posting a few of them below in the hope that it will encourage other members to do the same? …

1 Like

Those are great, lexy. I especially like #4.

No, I don’t do art — I just admire those who can and do.

Wow, great stuff! You are truly a Renaissance woman!

Yes - love art. I do Colourful landscapes amongst others. About to start a new range again in Acrylics. previously using oil which is great but the drying time is a bit too much.

Yes, I agree: acrylics were a great discovery for me, for “all-round convenience”, really (a lot less clearing-up time, too!). Looking forward to seeing a photo or two, Henry, and good luck when you get going again. :slight_smile:

Ooh, interesting - thanks! And talented (I particularly like the purple sky one :slight_smile: ).

(I’ve tried purple(ish) only in a “stained-glass window” effect) …

Why do you mostly like these squares of different colors, is it the only direction you are making art in&

I’m very interested in the life and work of the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian, and trying to paint my own impressions of how I imagine his work might have continued if he’d lived longer. That’s my excuse anyway, and I’m sticking to it. :wink: