Trade Journal Of My First Real Money Attempt at Forex

Well I have to say I an definitely very new to forex trading although I have had a lot to do in the sharemarket. I look after my own superannuation (similar to the 401K in America) but it is heavily focused on my local share market in Australia.

I am looking to broaden the horizon and see if I can make some money in forex. So while I do realise I am very new to this arena I think I have a solid background as a beginning.

I have spent a good few months playing with a demo account and understanding the concepts such as margin, free margin, pips, points, lot size, etc. So I think I have learnt the basics and I then started to formulate how I was going to attack the market.

My trading methodology is simple:

1. Find profitable experts and follow their tips
  2. Make sure the experts use different types of trading (breakout, swing, trends).
  3. Risk a very small amount on each trade.

With those simple principles in mind I went out and read a number of blogs, experts reports, free system ideas, forum tips, etc. I spent hours looking into the history of certain EA’s, systems, experts, etc and came up with a short list of about 30 “systems” to follow. I ran these in a demo account for a couple of months to check I knew what was going to happen and my likely margin requirements. During this time I took notes and statistics on each “system” and made a decision on whether it suited my risk profile, timeframes, and comfort level. I dropped a number of systems and then settled on those I felt were the best of the bunch. This left me with 5 systems which I could follow and I wrote an EA to collect the information automatically for me and trade the positions for me.