Swing Trades + Position Trade Journal

Hi all, hope you are all well.

Im creating this thread to keep track of my trades in a journal format. Also want to share my trades with the babypips community and enable some positive discussion among all.

I will be posting once every few days, occasionally everyday.

My aim is to hold profitable trades as long as possible to increase profitability. So this then is a swing trade/position trade journal. I may occasionally take intraday trades but expect more swing trades lasting few days to few weeks.

As a side note, I am in the UK. As such, the account i am using is a spread-betting account. This means my trades are in pounds (£) per point as opposed to lots.

Any questions you have, feel free to ask.

Wish you all the best in your trading endeavours.

Forexmcr

I am a swing trader too but sometimes I do mix it with a little bit of day trading when opportunities suggest so. I will be following your thread closely.

Hi middaytrader.

Swing trading has many advantages. Personally ive been more successful with this style of trading compared to day trading. I am of the opinion that swing/position trading is avoided by most traders not because stops will be too wide therefore risk is increased but because it is more difficult to garner the discipline required to wait for markets to “set up” on a higher TF and also the discipline required to manage a position over an extended period of time. This is a difficulty I have experienced and continue to do. DISCIPLINE…

On another note - been looking through charts for possible trade setups on Monday 13th.

Sugar (cash) looks very interesting. It has pushed up from previous 5/6 year lows and lost some steam on the way up. I’m going to monitor the chart on Monday for a possible sell order as it may make new lows. Or alternatively could carry on to start a new up trend. Either way looking like there is a high possibility for a move to the downside. By how much, we shall wait and see.