The Greatest Education: Losing $400 in the Markets

Hello, I’ve been trading for 2 months and this trade journal will be a bit weird.

A lot of journals I see are the “Watch me make $10k from $100” type. Judging from how long the threads last, most of these guys blow up in a few months and learn absolutely nothing. All you end up with is a lighter wallet and probably a shorter lifespan from all the stress.

I am trying something different. [B]I trade with the expectation of [I]losing[/I] all $400[/B] I put in. Instead of trying to strike it rich, I am treating this an an educational experience. Any profits made are like a free option: unexpected but pleasant payoff. This project was inspired by the Tim Ferriss, who started angel investing with $100k instead of pursuing an MBA.

At a private university, $400 is the cost of 1 credit hour. Instead of paying some head-in-the-clouds academic, I think this is a chance to learn more (and faster) with less money.

Below are some things I hope to learn:

[B]Economics / Geopolitics.[/B] I’ve always wanted to learn about this stuff, but always found it boring before discovering trading. Trading is a convenient way to become emotionally invested in learning. Lose a month’s profits from a fed announcement and you’ll never underestimate the importance of central bank decisions again.

[B]Human Nature[/B] Traders have been losing money since writing was invented. This is probably the only thing that can relied on to [I]not[/I] change. Especially interested in market psychology (where do people go wrong together?) and personal biases (sunk costs, availability, etc.).

[B]Non-Algorithmic Decision Making[/B] Because trading requires repeated (good) decision-making in new situations and in short time frames, I think it [I]compresses the decision making process.[/I] Who are the greatest multidisciplinary thinkers in the world? Probably money managers (Munger, Soros) and statesmen (Churchill, etc.).