Putting things together

Hello all!

I’m a relatively new trader trying to put together the things I’ve been learning for the past couple months.
The main goal of this thread is to help me track my trade ideas; Since I trade using a relatively standard MTF analysis, it’s good to know where the small opportunities are relative to the big picture. As a swing trader I’ll try to update this twice or maybe three times a week as needed. My main focuses are on EU/UJ. Sometimes I’ll look to trade the main crosses, like E/J, G/U, OR G/J

I use two primary “categories” for my trades:
Retracement trading: The goal of these is always to ride them out as long as possible, with a rough projected aim of getting 1-3 winning (TP) trades a month. I get in on either the 15m or 30m (sometimes 1hr) with the stop clear of the swing and no TP. I’ll hold on to it for roughly 24x TF (6 hours on 15m, 12 hours on 30m, a day on 1 hr) and then if it looks clear I’ll set the stop to BE and it won’t be touched until much later. I hound my stop loss, not my take profit. I consider these in-trend trades. The projected accuracy is a 20-30% [I]non-losing[/I] rate. I plan on having a lot of small losses, and a lot of break even trades with a few winners to carry the team.

Scalp trading: Essentially the oppose of retracement trading. The goal of these is simple; Get it in and pray the drawdown isn’t atrocious. These have no SL with a tight TP. These are counter-trend trades, with a set time to exit. The accuracy target of these is 90%+

That’s it for now! I’ll edit this post as needed in the future.

2 Likes

Starting with EU overview. Big news today so anything could happen, but my general outlook on the higher time frame of weekly/monthly is short. In other words I’m looking to short and HOLD on any trade that isn’t taken out.