Absolutely confused by spreads

Hello,

newbie here trying to learn about how everything behind the scenes works. I think I now understand how order book works with all the Bid and Ask prices.

However, I can’t grasp one thing - spreads.

1. How is spread a profit for the broker? I think I’m confused by this because I don’t fully yet understand what happens when I actually make an order to buy e.g. 1 lot of EUR/USD. Does broker execute the order for me on my trading platform and immediately sells 1 lot of EUR/USD somewhere else with this liquidity providers (which have better rates than what I’m shown by my broker?) Then again, here comes question, how can I have “worse” prices if the prices are set by simply supply and demand of the market where I’m trading?

2. During news and other events, it’s said that brokers can manipulate spreads to be high to discourage trading for the moment or to offset risk for them. How can they just “manipulate” spreads? I thought spreads are natural depending on where the next lowest Ask and highest Bid prices are. How can they for example change the price of EURUSD from 1.2000/1.2002 to 1.1980/1.2050 when there could be millions of orders among all those skipped values? What happens to those orders?

I would very much appreciate if someone could post a dumbproof example with numbers because I haven’t been able to google this one out haha.

Thank you!

Think of the bid/ask spread in terms of physical goods like at the supermarket. If you want to buy a loaf of bread at the supermarket, you will have to pay the ask price, lets say it is £1.00p. But the supermarket did not buy it from the bakery for £1, they only paid 60p. So the spread is 40p and that is the supermarket’s profit.