Are people mostly only either a trend or range trader? Can you be both?

The books I have been reading make it sound like you can only be a range or a trend trader.

I tried trend trading the daily EURUSD using only price action but it’s been ranging for weeks. I’ve been scalping and catching more pips than sitting around waiting for it to trend. I guess I’ve been more of a range trader but if I see a trend happening, I’ll definitely jump in.

I’m pretty new to this so I was wondering, is my thinking wrong? Can you really only be a trend or range trader?

Hi, welcome to the forum (think I can just about say that as you’re relatively new, apologies if that is condescending!).

This is a fair question, but the thing is - as with so many trading questions - that the answer largely depends on what sort of trader you are. Personally, I am a technical trader, trading PA. I mostly try to trade with the trend, but at the end of the day a chart is a chart, and if I see a setup I like then I will take it. After all, if you see a chart with a clear range, you will often also see a series of trends as Price moves between the range’s two extremes. I have very often traded a trend on such a chart, then traded a trend reversal out of the extremity of the wider range. Then picked up the new trend in the new direction. So if the end of a trend also marks the extreme of a range, you can be trading both. For instance, if you day trade the Hourly chart up all day, then it reverses and you see on the Daily chart that you are at the top end of a Daily range, then you might trade that reversal, if you’re seeing enough rejection of a clear level of Resistance etc., then trade back down the new, Hourly trend. You have just traded both a range and a trend.