Ask and bid comprehension?

Ok I am new to all of this and know the basics but bid/ask is confusing. Somehow its easier in stockmarket to understand.

What I really can not comprehend completely is how to understand the real difference between BID and ASK, because I want to understand the real underlying mechanics why value of a currency pair goes up or down.

Bid I have understood that I means buyers, ask are sellers. The difference is spread?

Let say a bad news comes along for USD and the price plummets. Does the price plummets because there are no buyers but many SELL orders? Or is it because there are many buyers who want to buy USD/JPY but for a much lower price than current?

Now lets talk about the other way around. The USD/JPY is bullish. Is it because the asking price increases for each trade and therefor the price climbs up because buyers are willing to pay more? Or is it because there are more buyers then sellers?

Some light would be appreciated because I am confused.

Added info

Lets take USD/JPY as an example.
BID = I want to buy USD with JPY?
ASK = I want to sell USD and get paid in JPY?

There is a BID price and an ASK price, because there is a market-maker somewhere in the price chain – not simply because there are buyers and sellers.

All markets have buyers and sellers, but not all markets are defined by BID/ASK pricing. The real estate market is an example of an active market with energetic buyers and sellers, but the negotiated contract prices arrived at by those buyers and sellers are not the result of BID/ASK pricing.

In our market, the retail spot forex market, there can be market-makers at two, or even three, different levels. One of those market-makers is always the top-tier bank offering to transact business with your broker. But, your broker might be a market-maker, as well.