Best way to learn from Babypips School

Hi guys,

I am a TOTAL newbie. Inspired to trade by peers and investors I look up to. I was told to use this site to learn currency trading. However, my main question is how did you guys approach the lessons on the site? My friend told me he just read and did “chart time”. I’m thinking if I should just take his approach or read and make notes along the way (University habit) to help with information retention.

So how did you guys approach the Babypips education course? Any advice is appreciated!

The method that worked for me was to get an account at TradingView.com for free charts. I would read a lesson, say, support and resistance, then spend 3-4 hours on a chart scrolling through and drawing in support and resistance lines.

When you practice chart skills, it’s important that you focus your efforts on a particular topic. After that, it’s repetition just like learning any other skill. Think back to how many times you tried to ride a bike or drive a car when first learning and how many mistakes you made along the way. Your experience with currency trading will be very similar.

So would you say that I should go through pre-school etc. all the way until I can understand “chart-time” and focus on the topics as you said when I am studying the charts?

Or, should I just go straight to a topic and practice like that?

If you have prior learning and experience, you can jump ahead. Otherwise, I recommend starting at the beginning and work your way forward. Some stuff might just be a review for you, but then you can ensure that you don’t have any knowledge gaps that can come back to bite you.

2 Likes

Fair play, I just graduated with an Accounting and Finance degree so some of the stuff I do know as I typically majored in Finance and picked mostly investment modules. I was wondering if people actually read all 300+ lessons or pick and choose what they want to learn based on their experience. Thank you!

1 Like