Candlesticks and time frame relevance

Hi all,
Just a question about candlestick types/patterns that occur in all the different time scales. Do these patterns act more or less severely based on the time scale of the chart, for example would a doji in a 5 minute chart be just as effective for signaling a possible reversal as in a weekly chart assuming all other indicators and news action do not play a role? I’m new to the fx scene and have been trading CFD’s based on weekly and daily charts and do not pay much attention to candlesticks, however I was wondering if they were more important for trade confirmation in intraday fx trading than in weekly trading? Also this question is probably similar to the above; should a technical analysis trading system that has an edge in the weekly/daily chart timescale have a similar edge if used in smaller time frames such as the 30min/5min charts?
All responses are much appreciated:)

the general rule of thumb for time frames no matter what you are using weather it be candlestick, ema’s, macd or a flip of a quarter. The smaller the time frame the more fake outs you get. The trick is to find out how you want to trade and then use the approite time frame. If you only have 1/2 an hour a day then use the day chart, if you have 6 hours a day then scalp on the 10 min chart.

Thanks alot for the reply

I agree with Bazooko

This question has been asked before and I will repost my answer :

I have known about candlesticks throughout my share trading but have only now realized their power and started to learn about them in detail.

I have basically dumped the use of indicators as they have at best, a reliability of less than 50%. Sometimes guessing is superior! I was making losses using indicators. After switching to candlesticks my trading improved markedly, I started to make money and i had a smile on my face.

I am taught by the books i have, the experts on this forum, and the experts on the internet generally that :