Changing FX markets push shorter-term strategies

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-07-18/fx-traders-pivot-to-tactical-bets-as-old-school-strategies-flop

1 Like

Ooooh. :open_mouth: This is an interesting read @PipMeHappy! Thank you for sharing this, a good read especially for newbies (like me :sweat_smile:) who are still making up their minds about what kind of trader they’d be. :nerd: I’m actually a bit curious on what you think about this. :thinking:

1 Like

Hello @ria_rose I remember - and you may be in a similar situation, perhaps - when I was a newbie and tried to learn about everything that could apply to trading, from macro-fundamental to the size of intra-day volatility and all manners of indicators thrown in: this is a fairly typical newbie stage, where one tries to soak up everything very quickly and becomes obsessed with ‘the markets’. Eventually one would expect a newbie to start becoming narrower in focus - less overtrading, less pairs on the watchlist, less indicators - and going through a consolidation phase, to really try preserving capital and becoming at least a little more consistent in NOT losing money. After this, there is almost a reversal to the 360-degree newbie phase, looking out at some wider themes in the markets, but with an increased awareness of which aspects are more directly going to impact the trading side, rather than filling one’s head with all possible information indiscriminately.

So if I were giving you some sort of advice - the same that I would give myself if I could go back five years - it would be that concentrating on big themes like these is not so useful at the beginning, and although it is fantastically interesting and stimulating to read about big themes, it is very difficult trying to make sense of them in trading terms, day in and day out.