Day trader

Hi
I am new to Forex. my question is what’s the reasonable time required to be a day trader. also I i can spend any number of hours between 7pm to 7am (GMT). what is the best pair i should start with.
appreciate help:)

Simple question, answer is not so simple

There are lots of factors, many of them will depend on you as a person

Here are some considerations

• You NEVER want to trade when you are any of the following: tired; distracted; likely to be interrupted; sick; or anything else that can effect your ability to make objective judgments (emotion)

So right away, if any of those boxes are ticked, do not trade that day or stop trading if you are currently trading

• How long can you concentrate in front of a computer?

This is a personal question and one that you will need to figure out yourself, trying to over trade will lead to the problems I listed above

• What is the market doing?

Sometimes you will open up your charts, and see absolutely nothing that meets your strategy, depending on your personality, this can lead to impulse trades out of boredom, where you attempt to force the market to fit your strategy when in fact it currently does not. Remember, often what separate good and bad traders is not the ability to make good trades, its the ability to not make bad ones…

• What is your target/goal per day?

Set something realistic, and something that can be achieved with consistency, if you do every well very quickly, consider finishing for the day, as over-confidence on the back of big wins can be a real problem and ties in with my first point

• What is your maximum loss per day?

When you hit it, and some days you will, STOP TRADING, do not take revenge on the market, or trade with the mentality that you “need to make your losses back”. The market will still be there tomorrow, however you will be more objective, and fresher. See my first point again.