Diary of a failed FX trader

So failed trader might be a bit extreme… but things aren’t going well! I’m here for advice, I only started trading FX last week.

The idea was to trade support and resistance lines (primarily), limit losses to 2% or less and to have risk reward ratios of at least 1:2.

In one week my account is down 7%. I made 5 or 6 trades this week, none of my losses exceeded 2%. I didn’t profit on any of them. I’m going to try to attach some setups and then how they went wrong!

I’d love some opinions and advice. Here goes…

Trade 1, looks like pretty good resistance. Sold it. Put my SL just above resistance.

This is where it ended up

Trade 2
Drew the fib retracements on the daily, they looked significant, place my stop all the way up near the 50

Took out my stop nice and quickly

Would LOVE some feedback. Obviously I’m doing something wrong…

So here’s one I bought. Looked like a good uptrend, bit of consolidation going on, bought on the downswing, my SL is in blue (might be purple I’m colourblind). I didn’t want to put my SL too low, where it was seemed to disprove my trading idea:

and sure enough it was hit.

reserved for more disappointment!

:34:

Do you have a system? Can you post here the mechanics of the system that you use?

Trade 1: It was strong R but it was in range trading. In range trading, price might go up to R and then down to S, I’ll be watching closely to see if it breaks R/S and only enter if the up/down was confirmed. In Trade 1, you assumed price 'd go down at the R but in forex trading only God knows their next move :slight_smile: In other words, we only guess and then wait for confirmation before enter a trade.