Discipline Vs. Taking Chances

Is there a conflict between staying disciplined and taking chances when you see Good ones?

2 Likes

For trading one should be disciplined because the market is very volatile and it can go anywhere so one should stick with his/her strategy.

2 Likes

No there shouldn’t be as good opportunities should be those that fall inside your strategy. If they don’t they aren’t for you.

2 Likes

If you have a rational, consistent and comprehensive strategy, how is it that there are better opportunities occurring outside the strategy than within its rules?

Maybe you need two strategies?
I’ll admit, I am a long-term trader desperately in need since the year dot of a short-term intra-day strategy. Working on it.

1 Like

Discipline is the most important for traders to be successful.

2 Likes

Good day,

I think the strategy’s “valid” “entry and exit parameters might be tooo restrictive”, hence restricting the “better opportunities”, probably because of the need to be more right all the time, which will at most, always reduce the opportunities count but increase the quality of the minimal opportunities provided, hence possibly providing quality trade opportunities, then just multiple but Non-Quality opportunities,

regards,
Mr Executives

Taking a chance is a synonym for taking a risk. In other words, Discipline Vs Risk. Enough said.

5 Likes

I think you need to be disciplined in taking THE risk.

By that I mean sometimes we think we should only take set ups that feel GOOD. But it’s my personal experience the set ups that feel the worst (for whatever reason) yield the best results.

Im often really surprised when a trade works out well, and often disappointed that certain set ups did not.

It’s true, trading is all about discipline, that discipline IMO is often doing what you do NOT want to do - not necessarily waiting and doing what FEELS right.