Does money make money? Using Leverage as a newbie

I’m a newbie on a demo account going through the babypips training school. I don’t intend to start on a real account until i’ve learnt a lot more and achieve profits on demo consistently.

I’ve had a bit of a blow to my hopes though. I don’t have a large starting capital - I’ll likely be opening an account with close to the minimum initial margin requirement. Does that mean I shouldn’t even bother?

low capital & small leverage - i’ll be making pennies and it will be a waste of time.

low capital & large leverage - I could potentially use this to get my way in to the forex market and increase my capital before lowering the leverage I use afterwards - but it makes margin calls extremely likely and so many people advise against newbies using large leverages because of the risk associated.

Can I create an effective investment for myself with little cash or should I just give up before I start?

1 Like

Depends how little a “little” cash is. But I guess you are talking about a very small amount!

I think you have understood the problem very well and I agree with you that it is a problem for you!

The main constraint will be concerned with where to place your stoploss levels. You need to be able to select sensible levels that, if reached, will have negated the reasons why you entered the trade and will close the position. But these levels may represent too large a risk for a small account and even a couple of such stopped positions will leave you with a considerably weakened account.

On the other hand, placing stops too close to your entry in order to minimise the loss amount will risk being stopped out on short sudden spike move even though you actually had the right view.