Honest opinions wanted

Hello there everybody I am a new graduate from the school of pipsology…brilliant site! (no smudges on my nose really)…however, there isso much info that I find myself starting to grasp one thing and completely forgeting another. What I need is a decent starting point, very simple…can I get honest posts of how people started and what mistakes/successes they may have had? I seem to have the opposite of the midas touch on my demo account…perhaps I use too many indicators or I’m using them incorrectly??..ok enough babbling…appreciate any help…Cheers!

I found the “so easy its ridiculous” section in 11th grade a good place to start.

http://www.babypips.com/school/my_so_easy_its_ridiculous_system.html

It has some flaws, but its a good way to get a feel, especially if you are into inter-day trades. I have found that its not much chop on time frames of less than 1 hour.

I know what you mean though, its a bit of information overload. The fact is that most of the “tools” of forex trading you will never use. You need to find the ones that create a system that works for you. Its a bit like being a chef. Most of them have dozens of knives, but have one that is weighted and sized just right for them and use almost exclusively.

My personal recommendation is to find a single pair and stick with it for awhile. Maybe try looking in the ones with low spreads, or that are paired with the USD, or whatever you like.

Then, load up one indicator at a time and see how it reacts to price movements, maybe change the indicator’s values if you’re adventurous. Try em’ all just for the hellofit, and maybe pick some that make sense to you, like ones that seem to correlate to the charts in a way that makes sense to you. Of course you should probably know the basics of what these indicators tell you :smiley: Then master the hell out of that specific currency pair and those specific indicators, and voila, you are a master novice!