How do i trade market sessions correctly ? as a day trader

so I’ve been learning how to trade for around 1,5 months now and am still backtesting strategy’s,
well at least trying to. now my problem is not getting enough trades in a week, I’m testing my strategy with the overlap and New-York session but cannot seem to get 2 trades per week if even any . And now I heard if you’re backtesting only take trades at the times you would actually be trading in , but if I stick to 1 session I barely get any trades in . I thought i’ll just use alerts but that would make my backtesting inaccurate wouldn’t it ???
So if I’m an intraday trader / day trader willing to hold over night , should. stick to just 1 session ??

I’d appreciate some good answers from you guys :slight_smile:

1 Like

· Draw on key levels on the 4H and 1H chart

· Identify Market structure and trend on 4H and 1H chart

· pay attention to what price does at the key levels

· Get in when you see 3 confluences, DO NOT SECOND GUESS YOURSELF

· Use the 9 and the 14 EMA no other indicators

· When you see potential entries scale in to a lower time frame

Possible confluences:

Fibonacci extension

Trend lines

Counter Trend lines

Candle sticks / patterns

Look at what price has done in the past

What does price do at key levels / consolidation

(Break of structure / little candle sticks …)

That’s my strategy , I’m open to criticism

2 Likes

This is the age-old problem forex traders face. After 10 years I still struggle with it.

I trade the overlap as well, so we are best buds already. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

I typically get between four to six trades within a four-hour period. That’s because I trade the 5-minute charts, while you are probably on the 4-hour and dailies. Am I correct?

If you are on the higher timeframes, it does not matter which session you enter your trades. For example, on the 4-hour chart, you would enter at one of these times:

5:00 PM EST
9:00 PM EST
1:00 AM EST
5:00 AM EST