Increasing lot size vs. separate accounts

I was talking to a fellow trader about increasing my lot sizes, but he said that you spread your risk by having multiple accounts. I don’t see the difference. I was hoping somebody in the forum can please tell me what the advantages of having multiple accounts will do.

Thanks,
Pimpinpips:)

2 accounts wont work, you will pay the spread twice for your positions.

if you buy 1 lot of X and pay a 2 pip spread thats your risk. if you buy 2 lots of X the spread is still 2 pips.

if you have 2 accounts and buy 1 lot on each account, your going to pay the 2 pip spread on each account. now your starting out 4 pips in the hole.

im new to this stuff myself so i might be wrong, but thats how i see it.

I believe you are correct, this is my assumption as well.

I am trying to grasp how you are spreading risk by having more than one account. Is it the idea that you get in a bad trade you won’t be in it on the other account? Is the idea to diversify your funds with different brokers?

Seems more of a pain in the ass to be worth it.

Hi I’m not certain but aren’t you paying the spread on the lots purchased not on accounts. So basically you buy two lots at a spread of 2 pips and you end up paying 4 pips anyways…2 pips on lot #1 and 2 pips on lot #2. Which would be no different than buying one lot from one account and one lot from another. 2 pips on a lot from account #1 and 2 pips on a lot from account #2. So either way you look at it you are paying the 4 pips cause you are buying 2 lots. That’s just how I see it. Let me know if I am wrong as I am new too. So my advice is the same as Swordofrue stick with one account and save yourself the confusion.

I think you are looking at it all wrong. Yes you would be paying 4 pips but each account would be down 2 pips. So if it moved 2 pips up you will break even.