Leverage - it's not always a double edged sword!

Hello, I am new to forex and just completed the babypips school and I’m interested in learning price action. I have a query regarding leverage and using a 2% capital risk per trade.

Am I correct in saying that the leverage I choose to open an account with does not matter if I use a 2% risk on each trade. In fact it would be better for me to opt for the largest leverage possible so that my margin requirement is less.

This has been on my mind for some time and can’t find any website that can seem to answer this question.

Thank you for your help in advance,

lmccormick

Absolutely correct. One more advantage of higher leverage is the ability to increase your positions considerably once they are in profit and your stop loss is above break-even. You could then be trading many more lots totally risk free with a much bigger upside potential.

hello, everything you said is correct. go for the largest leverage … you can usually change it later anyways.

With that being said, don’t go with the brokers who advertise 2000:1 leverage just because they have huge leverage. They’re all bucket shops, and you’ll never see a penny back from them if you request a withdrawal.

You are absolutely right. Leverage of thing is not always necessary but it gives us the chance to secure large position in the market when there’s no sufficient capital to open the position. For me, I’m enjoying the leverage my broker is offering from 1:1 to 1:500 without inquiry and you are free to use any amount of leverage you wish to use any time you want.

But we must understand the risk too. We must be ready with the risk if we use high leverage and big lot size when trading. We will feel the advantages of leverage if we can maximize leverage as well as possible.

Stop Loss above break even = profit. There is zero risk if you increase the position size and you are still in profit. Absolutely zero risk.