Need help with a strategy

RSI DIVERGENCE STRATEGY

Guys I am fairly new to trading, I trade WTI crude oil on MCX. I built an intra-day M15 strategy on RSI divergence. So the strategy is as follows:

Indicators used:

1. RSI 14 period (OB 80, OS 20)
  2. Stochastic (5,3,3) (OB 75, OS 25)
  3. Average True Range 5 period
  4. M15 chart

The steps are

1. Find a RSI divergence, any divergence.
  2. Enter trade when Stochastic crossover in preferred direction. (Note only if Stochastic has touched either 30 or 70 before or during crossover)
  3. Set target as 2 X ATR (5 PERIOD)
  4. Set stop as 2 X ATR (5 PERIOD)
    In my analysis I found that it was easy to find a divergence but to pin point when the price would react to the divergence was difficult, so I added a 5,3,3 stochastic as a confirmation of reversal. Then I found that setting target and stops was also an issue. So I added ATR for stops and target based on volatility.

The risk to reward was initially 2:1 (targets 3 X ATR and stops 1.5 X ATR) but the price would either whipsaw within a few points of my target or just hit the stop right away. So I changed in to a 1:1 (target 2 X ATR and stops also 2 X ATR)

Now I am trying my best to test and fine-tune this strategy. I would love to have your input. Any suggestions for indicators or any other stuffed is warmly welcome.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I think you’re probably not such a random potato as you claim, but quite a well cultivated one. This is all based on good, sensible principles and could be made to work.

I can make two suggestions.

Firstly, in my experience (and according to what I’ve heard from colleagues, too) RSI-divergence-based entry-methods for forex trading work much better and much more reliably if you make the lookback period about 22-25 periods, rather than the 14 periods you’re looking at now.