Need help with leverage

hi, all
i am brand new to Forex. I opened an Oanda game account, i’ve read a few articles about Forex as well as a lot on this forum, but still the main question remains unanswered. I apologise for the question, but as I said i am new.
Ok, if I have $100 in my mini account and the leverage is 50:1, how much in funds do i need to trade 1K lot?:confused:

thank you guys for your help :slight_smile:

Hi, sahara

First of all, you would trade a 1K position in a [B]micro account[/B], not a mini account.

[B]The term “leverage” has two meanings:[/B]

B Maximum leverage allowed by your broker.[/B] That’s the 50:1 you mentioned in your example. Your broker is saying that you are not allowed to put on a position which is larger than 50 times the amount you have in your account.

Fifty times the $100 in your account would be $5,000 or 5K.

B The actual leverage you use,[/B] based on your position size and your account size. In your example, your postion size is $1,000 or 1K. Your account size is $100. Therefore, the actual leverage you are using is 10:1 ($1,000:$100 = 10:1).

If you trade this $1,000 position (= 1 micro-lot) in your $100 account, your broker will earmark $20 of your account for [B]margin[/B]. This money is yours, but it is not available to cover either the spread or losses in your account. The remaining $80 in your account is available to cover the spread and any losses which might occur.

Here are two relationships which you should study until they are a permanent part of your brain:

[B]Margin Used x Broker’s Maximum Allowable Leverage = Position Size[/B]

In your example, $20 margin used x 50 (allowable leverage) = $1,000 (position size)

And, [B]Account Size x Actual Leverage Used = Position Size[/B]

In your example, $100 (account size) x 10 (actual leverage) = $1,000 (position size)