New scalper, baby steps

Hello world, from Kenya

hi Tim, hope you are well. i love doing scalping really , but sometimes it causes a great risk and losses.

3 Likes

Hi Malik,
I am a newbie lol. But I can confess that on Friday on a demo account I tried scalping and earned so much dollars just wish it was a live account. I was doing that on gold against USD pair. I even did not know what I was doing was called scalping until I came across a definition of that while continuing with my forex education.

I immediately told myself, if this is what they call scalping, I want to be doing that.

Hey, and could you advise on a good broker ( I do not want those who withhold peoples money)

1 Like

Hi Tim, welcome…

1 Like

Hello, thank you!

Tim, don’t confuse luck with skill or the market will eat you alive. It is a hustler and preys on any type of weakness, such as overconfidence and inexperience.

If you must scalp a live account, use very small positions until you’ve consistently shown profit over a period of at least 6 months.

Good luck.

1 Like

Hey, Matty, thanks for such solid counsel. I have decided to double my demo account so I can be sure that I am ready for the live account.

1 Like

Good plan. Be realistic, think about how much money you plan to deposit in a live account then base your demo account on that amount so you’ll have a better idea of your actual gains and losses per trade.

If you get used to a $100,000 demo account and then open a $500 or $1,000 live account then chances are you’ll be very disappointed with the smaller numbers and be tempted to increase lot sizes so that you can see those big numbers you were so used to seeing in demo, increasing your risk of blowing it.

1 Like

I want to go by this.Thanks a lot for sharing.

1 Like