Normal or something shady

Hi all, I’m new to trading and I’ve been reading all of the great responses on here. My question is twice in two weeks this has happened to me. I shorted AUD/NZD and had what I thought was a sensible stop loss point. The pair was trading in a range then trended up with a shadow of 20 pips higher and stopped me out and came back down into range. It felt like something shady happened. Is this normal?

I’m looking at various short time-frame charts for this pair but its hard to see anything abnormal.

If you can’t post up a chart, is is possible to state when this happened and quote the significant price levels? (UK time if possible)

Here’s a screenshot.

Here’s the same period off my broker screen. I don’t see anything unusual here. There are always some small variations in candles between various brokers but I see nothing to suggest manipulation here.

20 pips is not a large move and can easily result from just a comment or a statement on Bloomberg, Investing.com, the news, etc, etc.

Is your broker a well-known, large and regulated company or an off-shore? If you are suspicious then you could open a demo account with another broker and watch the candle formations on both while you are in a trade.

1 Like

Yes it is called volatility most probably your set too tight stop loss

2 Likes

Got it. Thanks for the help.

1 Like

There was a bullish spike. And IMO, these happen regularly when high volatility is in the market - caused by who knows? Institutional traders who need to exit a bearish position? AUD banks?

You could also see the effect clearly if you watch the 1M chart on the DAX breakout at opening time, at 2pm UK. It’s hectic.

1 Like

It is very volatile at the moment. These wicks are common across a lot of pairs. hopefully we get some more stable conditions soon

1 Like

It’s Institutions pulling price for liquidity a better price possibly? But not uncommon maybe adjust your SL on this pair