Over confidence

Hello, I am a new currency trader. Yesterday I made my first live trade going short on the USD/JPY pair and made a nice profit. Now because I have got off to such a great start, could I be setting myself up for failure in the future from over confidence?

That depends on how you feel about the trade. If you feel like you are smarter than the market, or untouchable, then you may tend to put on a bigger position size, and set yourself up for a big loss, or not follow your system. However confidence is good, it helps you follow your system, and you tend to trade better if you are in a positive state of mind. Remember, that it is only one trade, the more you take, the more you’ll learn to control your emotions. Besides when you lose, you’ll get taken down a peg, believe me, it will help you get serious. As long as you can keep your discipline it’s fine. Anyways good job on the trade and best trading to you on the next one!

Stay cool, take it Easy!

The real question is: Did you follow your trading plan to a t?

Why did you short USD/JPY?

Thank you shadow and ForexNinja. Yes I did follow my trading plan to a t. I won’t be trading with a larger position size, instead I will continue to stick with my plan as recommended.

Excellent! Like my sensei repeatedly told me:

[B]Focus on the process, not on the profit. [/B]

I felt the same way because when I first started with real $$$ I stayed in some of my trades while news came out and the news went my way so the trade worked out perfect. I am finding out the hard way now that the news doesn’t always go your way because I have been burned many times on bad reports. I am considering closing any trade prior to news being released like Big Pippin does in his Cowabunga system. Of course if it takes off in my direction you want to beat yourself up for getting out but it is the safest way to stay in the game and win in the long run. It’s more like a gamble when news is coming out. Good Luck to you.

Topgun