Price action is the best

While I’m rather new to all this, lately I’ve found for short term low profit trades that price action is almost always gone pay out if your not greedy.

I was attempting a strategy of macd cross over, stochastic rsi cross and direction and ichimoku cloud cross over. Which seems to work over weeks real good when back tested but for day trading it is hit and miss.

So I just started looking at the price direction and momentum. And trade in that direction. But as soon as it slows or something makes me feel like I’m gonna go negative I close. Meh. Sometimes it’s only a dollar profit (trading 0.1 contract) but it’s a profit. Lol better than loss. And i am trying to get trailing stoploss to work better.

Well its a start. Inevitably you’re going to want to start making bigger money. That’s when it gets interesting.

2 Likes

Good going and good luck.

1 Like

Yeah a start. I’ve still got a lot to learn. My next task in learning is to better position my entry, SL and TP. Although I think I’ll probably try work toward trailing stop loss rather than TP. Either way.

Assuming you already have a consistently profitable strategy, these are the best ways to limit your profits in trading -
close winning trades at the end of the day
trail your SL
set a SL too close to entry or current price
set a TP to get you out of a winning trade.

1 Like

I don’t agree with your SL philosophy, you are going to be stopped a lot prematurely. SL must make logical sense.

Very long experience has taught me, also, that an automated trailing stop is a bad and counterproductive idea, even though superficially it looks attractive and sensible.

1 Like

Opinion is but your own. But I fail to see how a trailing stop loss is not logical. Seems rather logical to me to minimise loss and retain profit.