Price action vs Indicators

I’m new in forex and from what I’ve read and watch regarding forex from these so called “gurus”, I should forget about indicators and look at the price action instead.

I’ve opened a $100 account so I could practice both. The result is different for me though.

I’ve got 8/10 (average) take profit using stochastic oscillator and I’ve burned 4/5 positions (average) using engulfing candle stick.

I’m not sure if it’s just me who is not good on finding a “real” engulfing sticks but every time I found one it goes to the opposite way.

Just want to ask do you guys rely more on price action or indicators? I know there’s a fundamental aspect like “news” but let’s just focus on these two first.

Look back at the losing trades. What was the trend before the engulfing candle? What direction did price move after you entered, compared with the principal trend?

1 Like

@tommor

I’m only using engulfing contrary to a trend. If it’s going down and I see a bullish candle, I go buy and vice versa.

As per my stochastic oscillator strategy, I’m using a very safe/conservative approach. If I will use a 1 hour time frame, I will look first on what’s the trend on the 4 hours time frame if it’s going up, I will wait for bearish trend on the 1 hour time frame to go on a bullish direction and then I will buy only. I strictly put $2 take profit on each position.

Like what I said I was able to have an average of 8/10 take profit using the indicator. Though my biggest mistake is that I didn’t not put any stop loss on the two and burned $30 of my $100.