Profit risk ratios

I’m a newbie still developing a trading plan in demo accounts. As I understand things, a key part of trading is finding a good compromise between profit risk ratios and the probability of trades being successful. More specifically, bigger stop losses and smaller profit targets will increase the probability of your trade being successful, but this will be at the expense of lower profit risk ratios. I’m looking to find a good balance at the moment.

I know every trader has their own style, but I’m wondering if anyone has some tips to share?

For risk to reward or risk to profit ratio. That part is simple you want to make at least the same amount or better than you risk. I try to look for a 3:1 reward to risk (R:R). That way if I only win 50% of my trades I still make money. It is a pretty simple concept really and I hope I explained it so you understand it. If not just ask I am surprised no one replied to this there are alot of people here better at explaining stuff.

Now I must stop you on the comment a bigger stop loss means smaller profits. This is simply not true depending on how you trade. Try to look at risk in terms of account percentage. Meaning let say you have a 1000USD account and you risk 1%. That means you are risking 100USD. Now you find a trade where your Stoploss is 20 pips. That means you can enter 5 mini lots. That puts your pip value at 5USD X 20 PIP SL = 100USD. Now lets say you win that trade and you used the 3:1 R:R as stated above. You profit is 300USD

Now you find another trade but this time your stoploss is 100 pips and you risk 1% of your account. You now can only trade 1 mini lot. Your pip value is now 1USD X 100 pip SL = 100USD. Lets say you win this trade with the same 3:1 R:R you would have made a profit of 300USD.