Reversal patterns - do they have to coincide with existing support/resistance levels?

Hi traders,

I am currently using a system which I am happy with but I would like to expand my skillset so that I can get more setups.

Here is the question:

Long time ago (2 years or so) when I was a very beginner I was backtesting a “system/pattern” where I have a trend on a given timeframe and then a pullback occurs, I would then be looking for a reversal pattern such as H&S to be printed such that it coincides with a diagonal level (trendline) or horizontal level (for example the last swing high/low). So I would enter on completion of the pattern and ride the “with trend” move.

Long story but I didn’t go ahead and use the system on a live account and eventually ended up using something else.

However I can recall I had outstanding backtesting results, the number of samples wasn’t huge but it was fairly significant. I won’t be able to provide exact figures as I no longer have the file with all the backtesting results. But results were clearly there.

Anyway, I am at the point where I want to expand my skills and this is something I want to go back to. A question I have been asking myself for days is:

If I want to trade reversal patterns such as H&S and double tops/bottoms WITH TREND is it important for the pattern to coincide with an existing S/R level such as last swing high/low/ trendline/Fibonacci. I mean, there is already a fair chance the reversal pattern will be occurring at an existing S/R level but that’s not always the case. Does this increase win rate significantly?

Does anyone trade these reversal patterns this way (i.e. so that they occur on transition from pullback to the next with trend move)?

Regardless of the answers I will be doing backtesting of course, but I would like to get some opinions first.